A Gift from Nowhere

Image

Silver Oak Trees, Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu, South India

A few days ago, I was walking down the paved road through a large coffee and banana plantation owned and maintained by the Jesuits in Kodaikanal. The road meanders from the Zen Center Bodhizendo down to the main thoroughfare below and ends at a small town called Peramalmallai.

MIxed in with the bananas and coffee beans were orange, pear, and majestic silver oak trees. The pear trees were starting to blossom, many white flowers were turning into baby pears. The orange trees have been picked at least once and many more hung on the trees, some were plump, ripe and ready to eat.

I was alone on the road that was lined on one side with a natural stone wall. I glanced up at the orange trees, and thought – It sure would be nice to have a nice juicy orange right now, maybe, hmm….maybe I could simply pick one? Oh my, aren’t you greedy, you just had breakfast, and besides these trees belong to the Jesuits. Let it go!

I kept walking, and really – seriously – within thirty seconds further down the road, I saw an orange lying smack in the middle of the roadway. And just because the thinking mind still had to have its doubt, I thought – Maybe it’d damaged, maybe the underside has been eaten and it is full of worms.

Nope! It was a delicious gift that I thoroughly relished!

And they often come that way – gifts – as we all know, but somehow again and again forget. It is when we let go and remain open, we can see the gifts all around us. And sometimes we even receive a strong reminder – in the small things such as an orange – that all is Perfection.

And to further the story…..just to show how dense my mind sludge can be. Again, two days later I walked the same road, and I started to contemplate the taste of an orange (the first one being such a treat! oh, the nature of desire!)  I sat on the stone wall, all alone, listening to the birds and their ever-song of joy. I happened to glance over my shoulder and again, yep, another perfect orange, lying on top of fallen oak leaves. Thank you universe! Yum…..

Never before in the many times I have walked that road has an orange presented itself.

But really, was it an orange?

I rather feel it was Grace. 

Image

About smallpebbles

A simple life unfolding moment by moment
This entry was posted in India, Nature, Oneness, Peace, Photographs, Silence, Spirituality-Inner Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Gift from Nowhere

  1. wonderful blog you have here and thanks for the visit and for following my blog.

  2. I can so much relate to this entry that i could have written it myself…
    Yes!…so many oranges fall in front of us almost every day but we do not see them.
    Surely some are bruised or half eaten and some have worms in them
    but there are as many we bypass with doubts in mind
    and then quickly even forget the perfect ones…

    Hope you Enjoy many more Perfect Gifts of all kinds!

  3. Papaji tells a wonderful story of his encounter with orange trees in which a tree lets 20 oranges fall right in front of him and then speaks to him of the Grace of Nature ready to give all to us… 🙂 tomas ☼

    • smallpebbles says:

      thanks for that wonderful Papaji story – am sitting in the Singapore Airport on the way back to the U.S. and reading that story hit the heart directly! shanti…shanti…grace…..

  4. vision5d2012 says:

    Ear One — thank you for this story. Tomas and I are noticing many more instances lately of our desires being fulfilled quickly. We love the passage from Brian Walker’s “Hua Hu Ching” # 81 that says: “Love your life. Trust the Tao. Make love with the invisible subtle origin of the universe, and you will give yourself everything you need.” Seems like a perfect description of what happened to you with the oranges. Many blessings, Alia

  5. caimbeul says:

    Oh I really like that.

  6. Jayashri Fairclough says:

    I like the three emphasized words: gift, perfection and grace. Three and yet one. XO J

  7. Anonymous says:

    That is a wonderful experience! And such a lovely thing to write about for those of us who live in the frigid UK area, where the only oranges and bananas we get come in crates!! Loved this post.

  8. Liana says:

    good morning Grace…it worked on me, too
    thank you for sharing that lovely orange

  9. 2Spools says:

    That is one very beautiful picture.

Comments are closed.