Generosity

Dana – Living on Trust

Exactly what is dana? How do we cultivate this quality of giving, generosity, liberality and munificence? There are many different translations of the word dana. It is the quality of generosity that gives physically and from the heart. Hearts with dana are generous, open-handed, and liberal in terms of willingness to give, share, to be present and to help. All of those qualities take us away from me and my needs, me and my necessities, me and my demands, me and my expectations, me and my essential fixed residence in the middle of the universe.  – Ajahn Passano – The Delights of Dana

Rose Mandala

Rose Mandala

 Yesterday we met with our friend Eric (not his real name ) who teaches Qi Gong and meditation at retreats in the U.S. and Europe. For over twenty years dana has been his sole financial resource – he has no fixed price for his teachings – instead he accepts donations in any amount from participants.

Sometimes the donation box is weighted with generosity, other times filled with lack – no one is turned away because they can’t come up with a fixed dollar amount.

Eric said, “Sometimes someone may only give ten or twenty dollars for several days of teaching, others may give hundreds, I never know. Dana is part of the Theravada Buddhist tradition that dates back to the time of Buddha.”

Eric does not have children or elders tugging on his coin purse, so financial support through dana he acknowledged, “Is easier for me than most meditation teachers who need additional ways to supplement the dana they receive for teaching.”

How many people living outside a monastery or other environments where basic necessities are taken care of are so willing to live on slippery footing?

“One time,” Eric said, “after a ten-day retreat I received a check in the donation box for $15,000!”

“Really? Did you cash it?” I asked.

“No, no way. I thought once the woman went home and got her thinking on straight she would regret it. Maybe  in a moment of bliss, she wanted to renounce everything, who knows!  I still have that check though, I come across it once in a while – it makes me smile.”

I said, “It’s an uncommon lifestyle living on dana in the west, not many people can trust enough to take what comes.”

“Not really,” he replied, “we really are all taken care of.”

We REALLY are taken care of! How true!

But…. sometimes the little me-story forgets!

S H A N T I

Buddha Statue at Bodhizendo, Kodaikanal, India

Buddha Statue at Bodhizendo, Kodaikanal, India

About smallpebbles

A simple life unfolding moment by moment
This entry was posted in Flowers, Peace, Photographs, Self-knowledge, Silence, Spirituality-Inner Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Generosity

  1. Kozo Hattori says:

    Love that he did not cash the $15k check. I guess doing those 10 day retreats brings clarity. Thank you for sharing this amazing message. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • smallpebbles says:

      And hugs back Kozo! Taking some time to blog a bit from the desert, thanks for your words!! Since that post I have met another person who has lived only on dana, a remarkable life of surrender. joyful NOW! kai

  2. Liana says:

    especially good for me to read right now…thank you for sharing this

  3. reikiheidi says:

    How beautiful! What a wonderful man. “We are all taken care of”… yes, i always stress and worry about things, but I know that things always, always, work out in the end… I am yet to keep this lesson in mind and stop worrying!

    • smallpebbles says:

      Heidi, yes his way of being is a good reminder – have been so well taken care of and still at times, the doubting mind gets on. count our blessings! hugs!

Comments are closed.