Falling of Petals

P1070755

Not knowing

when the dawn will come

I open every door.

– Emily Dickinson –

P1080074

While I thought that I was learning how to live,

I have been learning how to die.

– Leonardo Da Vinci –

P1080254

It is not all of life to live,

nor yet all of death to die.

For life and death are one,

and only those who will consider

the experience as one

may come to understand or

comprehend what peace indeed means.

– Edgar Cayce –

About smallpebbles

A simple life unfolding moment by moment
This entry was posted in Death, Flowers, Nature, Peace, Self-knowledge, Silence, Spirituality-Inner Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Falling of Petals

  1. seeingm says:

    With these stunning photos, you have perfectly captured the celebration of the ashes of the physicality of today’s M as she one day will move into the next incarnation in the eternal moment of now. Next, I am that rose… now, I am that rose.

    http://seeingm.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/murmerations-of-m-in-death-does-she-deepart/ ๐Ÿ™‚

    GREAT post!!! hitting squarely home at the center of my heart. -x.M
    ……………..
    โ€œAnd the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.โ€ –Anaรฏs Nin

    • smallpebbles says:

      M, love that quote by Anais Nin, thanks for reminding me again. I frequently walk by the yard where these roses were growing, they just spoke in such a way…..manifesting in space, disappearing as manifestation, and yet the space remains…..

  2. lauriesnotes says:

    I just love pictures and words.
    These are precious.
    Namaste,
    Laurie

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    Wonderful post….perfect quotes
    and Edgar Cayce is/was the wisest man I have ever encountered,
    even if only in his words and thoughts…..
    when life gets frustrating, I sit in stillness…. draw on the energy of when
    I was on the other side….it is truly a peace that consumes and embraces me
    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful post…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  4. smoothingly says:

    Reading about the truth of life and death being ONE: and then, the coming to the experience of truth, the feeling deep peace…..thank you. I needed this today.

  5. Jayashri Fairclough says:

    I totally agree with Liana…..uttery exquisite. Thanks so much for this!

  6. Liana says:

    this is a completely, utterly wonderful post in words and visuals… I’m in love with it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • smallpebbles says:

      Thanks dear Liana, I kept walking by those roses and watching them fade day after day. They seemed such a perfect symbol for all that arises and falls away – and behind the image? ( )

  7. Mona says:

    Beautifully written…….

  8. Such a lovely alternative to the Weekend Newspaper as I take my breakfast beside our bare rose bushes under a pale winter sun … thank you!

    • smallpebbles says:

      Ah Miriam, can picture you breakfasting by the bare rose bushes – here, the heart of summer is in full bloom, but the petals keep falling as our petals will at the perfect moment ay.

  9. aalif says:

    If I may add to your compilation on life/death and transition, one of my all-time favourite poems by Dylan Thomas:

    Hourly I sigh.
    For all things are leaf-like
    And cloud-like.

    Flowerly I die.
    For all things are grief-like
    And shroud-like.

    • smallpebbles says:

      Beautiful Aalif! Thanks so much for sending this! So so simple and a beautiful poem – arising and passing away, still the space remains. shanti dear ONE….

  10. omtatjuan says:

    Flowers live in the moment… They do not worry about their wilting petals.. If only we as humans could…

  11. KM Huber says:

    What a stunning post! Thank you so much.
    KM

  12. iamforchange says:

    A lovely compilation and I am feeling quite warmly embraced.. Thanks for sharing the smiles and the wisdom. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.